14 Comments

Throw Back Thursday Crochet….


Like many of you know,,, My Grandmother Beatrice Ryan Ramshaw was the one who taught me to crochet 40 years ago…  I thought it would be fun to show you one of her blast from the past Afghans…  She was such an avid crocheter… Mastering both yarn and thread techniques!!!  I often wonder  what it was like to crochet for her… She was born around the turn of the century… and lived until 1997…  The materials she must have learned with would have been hard to come by… She lived in a remote area of Northern Canada until the 40’s… But even when she moved to the United States and settled in Northern California,,, I think yarn and patterns would have been so much different from what we have now!!

This week the Afghan I am sharing was made for my favorite Great Aunt Velma… Velma was her sister-in-law, who also came to the United States in the 40’s… They were great friend too!!  I was blessed enough to inherit this afghan after Velma passed away about a decade ago…  I was amazed how well this beauty held up over the years…  My best guess is that Beatrice made it in the 70’s.  Amazingly this is one of the softest Afghans I have… I was a little surprised,  many of the acrylic yarns during that time were pretty scratchy and rough!  It definitely is a treasure!

.

wpid-IMG_20140122_215227_833.jpgwpid-IMG_20140122_215637_871-1.jpg.

This Great Afghan appears to be completely done in single crochet, with every other row done in back loop only… It looks to be a dk weight and a larger hook like maybe a N size…  Gotta love it… And to top it off… it measures a staggering 9+ feet long and 4+ feet wide…  I think she made it so it would nicely drape over both ends of Velma’s queen size bed…

.

Well, there you have a Throw Back Thursday Crochet treat!!!  What about you… Do you have any Throw Back Treasures??

..Happy Crocheting!!

Elena

 

14 comments on “Throw Back Thursday Crochet….

  1. Have you ever tried to re-create this pattern? Maybe not on the same scale, as that is one huge blanket… It looks beautiful and I am sure the pictures don’t do it full justice.

  2. The afghan that your grandmother made is beautiful! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  3. That is one Awesome afghan. I have several treasure that were knit by my grandma. I don’t know how to share pics here so I will share on facebook.

    • I love that some of us have kept our family treasures to pass down…I dont really have a place to share here where you can load them… but I may have a day where I collect pics by email of other peoples treasures and share them here!!!

  4. The stitch may be what is called the “seed” stitch…it’s all done in sc in back loops only, very warm and very lovely. My niece has a navajo crocheted blanket that I made for my sister 40 years ago and it still holds it shape and is so soft.

    • This is just every other row back loop single crocheting… It is kind of a loose stitch but lays nicely!!
      I believe the Seed Stitch is a Sc in a stitch, Then a Dc in the next… on the next row you Dc in the previous Sc and Sc in the previous DC… I love the seed stitch too!

  5. Very pretty and it is even more special with the story attached 🙂 I have a few shawls from my G Grandmother and a baby blanket my G Aunt made for me when I was little – we don’t have many crafty people on my side I’m afraid – I am apparently a throwback myself 😉

  6. What an incredible story! It’s an amazing afghan Elena and one I know you truly treasure. Thanks for sharing a little piece of yourself with me. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

moogly

Sharing Crochet and Knit Goodies Worldwide!

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

Siskiyou Landscapes

Landscape Photography from Siskiyou County, Including Mount Shasta, Mossbrae Falls and more

Life Undiscovered

The Misadventures of The Goddess

Sugar's Sweet Stitches

Crochet though hands, from the heart, with love

The Hooked Haberdasher

all things crochet, crafty & clever

Stitch11

The Love of Crochet

Curly Girl Coop

The Love of Crochet

Pattern Paradise

Crochet Classics for Today's Living

The Purple Poncho

Crochet by Carolyn

Crafting for Charity

... because everyone deserves to smile!

snappy tots

The Love of Crochet

Zo-Zo's Space

Handcrafted. Organic.

Oombawka Design

Completely Hooked...on crochet

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

B.hooked Crochet

Your Guide To Better Crochet.

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

woolhogs

colouring your world, one stitch at a time

Do Small Things with Love

creative ideas for Catholic families

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

A Conversation with Moo

A crafter and a puppy named Moo

Busting Stitches

The Love of Crochet

BabyLove Brand

A Complete Portfolio

My Merry Messy Life

Offering free crochet patterns, DIY green living projects and tips, family-friendly recipes, arts and crafts, and more!

The Crochet Boulevard

The Love of Crochet

FreshStitches

Featuring plastic craft eyes, animal eyes & comic eyes. Plastic safety eyes perfect for amigurimi, dolls, bears, puppets, plushies and animals. Amigurumi Crochet Patterns and tutorials.

Crochetville

The Love of Crochet

PaisleyJade

The Love of Crochet

The Love of Crochet

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Attic24

The Love of Crochet

Petals to Picots

Crochet, knit, create ...

iCrochet

The Love of Crochet

Repeat Crafter Me

Crafts, DIY projects, FREE crochet patterns, crock pot recipes and more!

